Nanowrimo is here! Or, for me, it’s FlashNano. 30 Stories in 30 days. Flash fiction!


Capacity

What could be worse? What could be better? That time of year when the wind picks up and the night gets cooler. That time of year when the leaves have gone from red to brown. That time of year when the streets are lined with bags full from a day’s hard work in the yard. What could be worse? It’s only a matter of time before the snow really starts to stick. It’s only a matter of time before the big coats have to come out and the boots and the salt on the sidewalk.

It’s calm around these parts for now. This town’s never been to much for exorcisms or abductions. It’s pretty chill. We go to work and we go home. Maybe in between, we have a coffee and scroll through the newsfeed. Maybe on other days, we pour ourselves a rye and watch a show. Maybe on other days we got out for a pint and see what’s new in the neighborhood. Maybe even see who’s new.

There has to be somebody new, right? The town hasn’t hit its capacity yet, has it? We haven’t reached our brink, have we?

*

Everybody’s got to believe in something and ‘God’ knows I do.  I believe that bad things come to those who wait that’s why I always like to keeping it moving. I mean, not like moving out of town or any of that such nonsense but like staying busy. I’m a doer and I’d suggest the same for you. It’s how I’ve made it this far. I literally made it. It and this and far. You can make anything if you try hard enough or often enough. You can even make distance. Far is an assemblage. A compilation of attempts. But, the big thing to remember is, don’t be a stranger nobody likes a stranger. New is nice. Familiar is better. It’s safe. No, that’s not true. It’s comfortable. You can sleep at night knowing familiarity exists.

 *

Anyway, sometimes I think back to those old ghost stories I used to hear when I was kid and those shows and movies and especially comic books about spirits, ghosts, demons and that sort of stuff. I never bought into it. Not that kind of stuff nor zombies or vampires either. It just doesn’t add up. Never did. And, aliens, that’s some other funny stuff. Who’d want to come here? I mean, I don’t want to leave but who’d want to visit?

Personally, I always liked those Little House on the Prairie type of shows. Well, until I got older and learned that I was pretty much alone in that love. Well, that was just the first time I learned that I was alone in love but that’s a conversation for another time and another audience.

So, back to the story at hand if there is a story at hand, it’s that time of year. You know, when the brownouts roll through town. It’s been a long time since a blackout but the brownouts, those come and go every few years or so. Just a house here and there gone out. No lights and the streets dim for a bit then it’s back to business as usually. You know, the regular stuff. The nothing new kind of stuff.

*

So, what do you do? I don’t do much. I mostly just go on about my business. I pay my bills a bit late like everybody else and try not to act too much of a fool. You know what I’m talking about, right? You know, I mean, I go to work and wait for the time to pass and then I go home and try to forget about the day until tomorrow when I do it all over again. Then the weekend comes and I’m not so old that I can’t enjoy a weekend so I do. I go out. I get my drink on. Sometimes I go overboard. Sometimes I haven’t had nearly enough to enjoy myself. This is how it goes in this town. This is how it’s been going for, I guess, forever in this town.

*

Nobody’s ever needed me for anything and that’s a good thing. I never have anywhere I need to be – besides at work – but other than that, I’m basically free.  What could be more beautiful than having no commitments? You know how much you can get done when you don’t have anything to do? You can get a whole lot of nothing done.  A whole lot. You’ll need a lot if you want to make sure that you’re not the one that pushes the town past its capacity. Every vessel can only hold but so much. There’s always a maximum. Learn how to work within it. That’s what I always think but rarely say – except  for now, for example. I’m trying to help you out. It’s that time of year again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

