Predawn


Quiet is a skill yet to be mastered

so it’s easy to imagine

dying and death

will be difficult.

 

Fear was instilled by the city

to bring about will

while thinking of the swell

out past the harbor

thinking there is where the living is

 

Trying to beat the sun to Queens

-the Village’s stoned rebels

with hands stretched are far away-

 

Back on Liberty Ave

where coffee is ready to go

so one black thing

won’t know a dream deferred

till another day.

 

(with inspiration from Pavese and Garcia-Lorca for Jean Toomer and Bob Kaufman -this African American History Month)

19 thoughts on “Predawn

    • Thank you for your very kind comment. ‘Exquisite’ seems to be a word which should be foreign to my poetry but if you say so, I’ll take the compliment with some modicum of humility.

    • I’m glad it felt timely to you. Some of it was tongue-in-cheek and came from an inability to write what I wanted to write. Then, I decided to sort of dedicate it to a couple of my favorite poets. Toomer, literally changed my whole approach to writing and often I’ve pleaded with people to read Kaufman (and Welch) if they want to read GOOD Beat poetry as opposed to FAMOUS Beat poetry.

      And I won’t even get into my ideas about Black History Month or what I call the time of year when kids read Montage of a Dream Deferred and this is supposed teach them about diversity. Next month it will be a bunch of kids reading about nobody and a bog.

  1. Great poem, “Predawn”, rings deep like a melody.

    “Diversity” can only be taught by example. Nobody, nobody ever asked to be born. This is a tough fact for some to accept…

  2. You pull such emotion and wisdom from letters and words, it is a pleasure to read what you write. So many great and profound lines in this, but this, I think, is my favorite “Quiet is a skill yet to be mastered”. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

